Sapta Puri – Seven Sacred Cities in India


India is a region full of pilgrimage sites which are considered holy for several reasons in mythology. Amongst these the most prominent ones are the “Sapta Puri” or seven sacred cities; which are:


अयोध्या मथुरा माया काशी कांची अवंतिका |
पुरी द्वारावती चैव सप्तैता मोक्षदायिका ||

Ayodhya Mathura Maya Kasi Kanchi Avantika |
Puri Dvaravati chaiva saptaita moksadayikah ||




Ayodhya Birth place of Lord Rama - One of the Sapta Puris - The seven sacred cities in India

Ayodhya Birth place of Lord Rama


Ayodhya is the city where Lord Shri Rama was born. Being the birthplace of Rama this is a reverred site in Hinduism. Ayodhya gained prominence after 1992 when Babri Masjid, part of Birth Place of Rama was brought down as a result of the long standing conflict. Ayodhya combines well with Varanasi and Allahabad for a pilgrim break. Ayodhya also known as Saket is located on the banks of Sarayu River in Uttar Pradesh



Mathura - The birthplace of Lord Krishna - Krishna Janmbhoomi one of the seven sacred cities of India - Sapta Puri

Just as Ayodhya, Mathura is considered largely because of being the birthplace of Lord Shri Krishna. Mathura is a major pilgrimage centre for Lord Krishna Devotees for being the Birthplace of Lord Krishna. Vrindavan is about 15 kms from Mathura Station and is a place of Krishna worship and has as many as 4,000 temples in number and associated with the life of Lord Krishna.


Haridwar - Saptapuri - One of the sacred cities in India

Haridwar is one of the seven holiest places to Hindus and one of four sites of Kumbha Mela, situated on the bank of holy river the Ganges. Haridwar is an important pilgrimage city, famous for its temples Mansa Devi Temple, Chandi Devi Temple,Maya Devi Temple and Bharat Mata Mandir. Haridwar is where guests arrive for the Har-ki-Pauri evening Arti experience and visiting Shaktipeetha Temples, Ashram and other temples around the area. Haridwar is known as ‘Gateway to Gods’, is referred in the epics as Mayapuri, Kapila and Gangadwar. Haridwar is the start point for Char Dham itinerary.

Banaras / Varanasi


Banaras - One of the sacred cities in India - Saptapuri

Banaras / Varanasi is a city in the northern Indian state of Uttar Pradesh dating to the 11th century B.C. Regarded as the spiritual capital of India, the city draws Hindu pilgrims who bathe in the Ganges River’s sacred waters and perform funeral rites. Along the city’s winding streets are some 2,000 temples, including Kashi Vishwanath, the “Golden Temple,” dedicated to the Hindu god Shiva.


Kanchi - One of the sacred cities in India - Saptapuri

Kailasanathar temple is the oldest temple in the town of Kanchi or otherwise known as Kanchipuram. Located on the banks of the Vegavathy river in Tamil Nadu,Its a holy pilgrimage site and one of the seven Sacred Indian cities. Kanchipuram is famous among the Saivites and Vaishnavites for its temples such as Ekambareswarar Temple, Kamakshi Amman Temple, Kailasanathar Temple and the Vaikunta Perumal Temple.


Ujjain - One of the sacred cities in India - Saptapuri

An ancient city situated on the eastern bank of the Kshipra River, Ujjain was the most prominent city on the Malwa plateau of central India for much of its history. It emerged as the political centre of central India around 600 BCE. It was the capital of the ancient Avanti kingdom, one of the sixteen mahajanapadas. It remained an important political, commercial and cultural centre of central India until early 19th century, when the British administrators decided to develop Indore as an alternative to it. Ujjain continues to be an important place of pilgrimage for Shaivites, Vaishnavites and followers of Shakta.


Dwarka - The abode of Lord Shri Krishna - One of the sacred cities in India - Saptapuri

Dwarka is one of the most important pilgrimage in Hinduism, this is abode of Lord Krishna. One of India’s oldest and most venerated pilgrimage sites, Dwarka’s archaeological and historical background is shrouded in mystery. Mythologically, Dwarka – or Dvaravati as it is known in Sanskrit – was the site chosen by Garuda, the Divine Eagle, who brought Krishna here when he departed Mathura. Krishna founded the beautiful city and lived there the remaining years of his life until he died (according to legend) in 3102 BC. Scholars confer that the oldest parts of the Jagatmandir temple may only date to the reconstructions of the Gupta period in 413 AD.


EziiTours arranges various group tours to all the locations mentioned in the above blog – that is to all the seven sacred cities in India.

Visit our Dwarka Somnath Girnar Yatra page on our website.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *